Thursday, December 7, 2023
HomeMusicAlbumsBlur announce new album The Ballad of Darren for July release

Blur announce new album The Ballad of Darren for July release

Blur has announced a new album, The Ballad of Darren, which is set for a July release.

The Britpop legends are reuniting later this month for a series of warm-up shows before a two-date residency at Wembley, followed by a European tour.

The Ballad of Darren is set to release on July 21, with the first track, The Narcissist, out now.

Speaking of the new album, Damon Albarn said: “This is an aftershock record, reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now.”

Graham Coxon, also a founding member of Blur and The Waeve, said: “The older and madder we get, it becomes more essential that what we play is loaded with the right emotion and intention. Sometimes just a riff doesn’t do the job.”

The Ballad of Darren will be available on CD and Vinyl, as well as the usual streaming services, with a bonus 7″ vinyl and Deluxe CD featuring two extra tracks.

Alex James of Blur added: “For any long-term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that.

Drummer Dave Rowntree continued: “It always feels very natural to make music together. With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted.”

A full tracklist can be found below.

  1. The Ballad
  2. St Charles Square
  3. Barbaric
  4. Russian Strings
  5. The Everglades (For Leonard)
  6. The Narcissist
  7. Goodbye Albert
  8. Far Away Island
  9. Avalon
  10. The Heights

Two bonus tracks, The Rabbi and The Swan, will also be available.

Ewan Gleadow
Ewan Gleadow
Editor in Chief at Cult Following | News and culture journalist at Clapper, Daily Star, NewcastleWorld, Daily Mirror | Podcast host of (Don't) Listen to This | Disaster magnet

Leave a Reply